Rangers Today
Featured Friday on the Farm

Friday on the Farm: As Frisco celebrates 20 years, a look at the Riders’ Dream Team

(Frisco RoughRiders)



Back before the toll roads, the Star and Toyota, Double A baseball came to Frisco.

Mandalay Baseball Properties, with an assist from then-Rangers owner Tom Hicks, moved the Double A minor-league team from Shreveport, La., to Frisco, where in 2003 the franchise would become a Rangers affiliate.

Now under the ownership of Chuck Greenberg, Frisco is one of the best franchises in minor-league baseball. This weekend, the RoughRiders celebrate their 20th anniversary.

Among the highlights is a Chris Young-Josh Jung bobblehead giveaway tonight. Four members of the 20th Anniversary Dream Team (Ian Kinsler, Chris Davis, Derek Holland and Tanner Scheppers) will be at Riders Field on Saturday; and the Sunday giveaway will be a set of Dream Team cards.

Frisco is getting closer to reaching 200 former players who have played in the major leagues. Ex-Riders players added this season include left-hander Cody Bradford, outfielder J.P. Martinez, infielder Jonathan Ornelas and right-handers Owen White, Grant Anderson and Alex Speas.

None of them is a dream teamer, at least not yet. Each needs MLB All-Star selections, World Series appearances or a long run in Frisco.

The full dream team, and what became of each member, is below.

Jeff Wilson

Sports reporter for two decades. Sports fan for life. Covers the Texas Rangers. Graduate of TCU. Colorado native. Author of Purple Passion: TCU Football Legends (https://t.co/2fmXLyympx). Follow me on Twitter at @JeffWilsonTXR

  • 1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Deck