Rangers Today
Previous slide
Next slide
Daily Newsletter Featured

Thursday newsletter time: And the awards go to …

(AP photo/Julio Cortez)



The runner-up for American League MVP and the fourth-place finisher for AL Rookie of the Year were among five Rangers players honored by the local chapter of the Baseball Writers Association of America.

Shortstop Corey Seager was selected as Player of the Year, third baseman Josh Jung was tabbed Rookie of the Year, right-hander Dane Dunning was named Pitcher of the Year, first baseman Nathaniel Lowe was voted as winner of the Harold McKinney Good Guy Award and center fielder Leody Taveras was picked as the Richard Durrett Hardest Working Player.

Seager, Jung and Dunning was rather easy choices, though Marcus Semien was also a potential choice for top player. The second baseman finished third in AL MVP voting.

Nathan Eovaldi was heading toward being the top pitcher after a strong first half in which he was selected for the All-Star team, but he missed much of the second half. Dunning led the team in innings even though he opened the season in the bullpen. He moved to the rotation when Jacob deGrom’s elbow woes started.

Lowe, the Player of the Year in 2022, is one of the easiest players to talk to and often provided insight after key wins or losses. The McKinney award is always a tough one to determine because so many players and front-office personnel are media-friendly.

Taveras overcame an oblique strain in spring training to complete is first full season in the majors without a demotion to Triple A Round Rock.

The winners will be given their hardware in January at …

Midwinter festivities

… The Texas Rangers Award Dinner — World Series Champions Edition at 5:30 p.m. Jan. 26. Individual tickets and tables 10 are on sale at rangers.com/awardsdinner. The event will take place on the playing surface at Globe Life Field.

In addition to the team awards, Lowe, catcher Jonah Heim and right fielder Adolis Garcia will receive their Gold Glove awards, and Seager and Semien was be presented with their Silver Slugger awards.

The Rangers said there will also be other presentations to honor team, which won the 2023 World Series.

The always popular Fan Fest will follow Jan. 27 from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. Tickets for the one-day event will go on sale Dec. 18 at rangers.com. The event features autograph sessions with most of the players on the 40-man roster and some minor-leaguers.

Organization honored

The good people at Baseball America have selected the Rangers as the Organization of the Year. I’ve been sitting on that bit of news, as BA commissioned me to write the story.

It’s good.

This marks the second time the Rangers have received the honor, the first coming in … 1989. The reasoning for the selection, beyond winning the World Series, is that the Rangers stocked their roster with players from the farm system and players discovered by pro scouts.

It wasn’t just buying a title, in other words. The team is built to last.

Doggy video!

Me, when it gets below 60 degrees. Enjoy.

Jeff Wilson, jeff@rangerstoday.com

Jeff Wilson

Sports reporter for two decades. Sports fan for life. Covers the Texas Rangers. Graduate of TCU. Colorado native. Author of Purple Passion: TCU Football Legends (https://t.co/2fmXLyympx). Follow me on Twitter at @JeffWilsonTXR

  • 1

1 Comment

  1. deGrom Texas Ranger December 1, 2023

    Wait… you wrote that piece on the top organization?? I went from voting it as a 60 for some random BA guy to an 80 just now as I found out!


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

On Deck